Chester extends lead as Anderson moves in to Group S lead

It isn’t hard to work out that after a clean sweep of Round 3 Philip Chester has extended his lead to Vince Gucciardo for the 2019 MG Racing Championship.  The paid now separated by 28 points at the front of the field as Chester added another 6 points between himself and Gucciardo as Robin Bailey who was forced to miss the third round dropped from second overall to 8th.

David Anderson takes the lead of the Group S class

It was the remainder of the top 10 that had a major shake up with the large field pushing a large number of competitors up the order. Perhaps the biggest mover was Paul Vernall who moved from 13th to 3rd with a strong weekend in Sydney, the ZR driver didn’t finish a race at Round 2 but bounced back to pick up two third placings in Sydney and find himself now 3rd albeit 69 points off the back of Gucciardo.  Tony Vollebregt moved from 9th to 4th and in doing so retains the lead of the Modern 2 class in his ZR while David Anderson moves from 14th to 5th overall in his MG B Roadster, jumping to the lead of the Group S class in MG Racing with a 6 point lead from Greg White who was leading the class.  Anderson, White and Souter are all in contention for the Group S class and are separated by just 30 points across the three of them. Chris Gidney moves to 9th place and Sean Herlihy moves into 10th overall and the lead of Modern 1 class in his MG F in his second season.
Just outside the top 10 now are Ben Muller (GT V8), Peter Rose (Classic 1 class leader), Richard Milligan, Mike Herlihy and Rhys Howell.

The field head to Round 4 at Winton Motor Raceway in August and anything can happen at the tight and technical circuit in rural Victoria.

Place Driver Vehicle Class Points
1 Philip Chester MG B GT V8 Open 2 268
2 Vince Gucciardo MG C GT V8 Open 2 240
3 Paul Vernall MG ZR Open 1 171
4 Tony Vollebregt MG ZR Modern 2 170
5 David Anderson MG B Roadster Group S 164
6 Greg White MG B Roadster Group S 153
7 Robin Bailey MG B GT V8 Open 2 139
8 Darren Souter MG B Roadster Group S 132
9 Chris Gidney MG ZR Modern 2 118
10 Sean Herlihy MG F Modern 1 100