Strong field set for Round 2

Round 2 of the Hobson Stores MG Racing Australia series presented by Phillip Island Apartments is nearly upon us and the entry list has swelled to 21 entrants.  Leading the list is our series leaders Vince Gucciardo in his TF LE 500, Chris Gidney in his ZR and Richard Milligan in his B V8 Roadster.

The outright ranks have been bolstered by Robin Bailey and reigning 2017 Champion Phil Chester in their MG B GT V8’s class while Rodney Gibb will be back in his ZT V8 and hoping for a strong weekend after his Sandown troubles.  Guaranteeing at least 4 outright V8’s on the grid for the weekend, in other Open class news the return of former champion Andrew Howell in the familiar MG ZR Judd endurance race car joins Paul Vernall in his MG ZR Turbo while Vince Gucciardo will remain in his MG TF LE500 for round 2 and making his debut is Barry Pritchett in the TF Cup.

The modern class see’s Chris Gidney (ZR) and Sean Herlihy (MGF) as the sole representatives, while the historic class has a strong field of no less than 7x MG B’s with Mike Wood and Trevor Dunford in their B GT V8’s leading the charge, and stalwart Peter Rose in his Roadster leading a pack that are hunting behind with David Anderson, Henk Zwartaveen, rookie Darren Souter and making their debut for the year we see Rodger Chapman in his B Roadster as well.

The Invited field will see V8’s of Geoff St John Cox and Keith Ondarchie in V8 Triumphs ahead of Rob Splatt and Ursula Weidenmuller in TR6’s

It is going to be a great weekend of motorsport, so get down for the Phillip Island Apartments Round 2 of MG Racing Australia on May 5 & 6


1 Bristle Blaster / Monti Philip Chester MGB GT V8 5600
6 Peter Rose MGB 1860
12 Vincenzo Gucciardo MG TF 1798
10 Morris Garages / RM Racing Richard Milligan MGB Roadster 5100
19 Torq Racewear / Merchand Watch Co Chris Gidney MG ZR 1796
28 Ultraglaze Detailing Paul Vernall MG ZR 1796
32 Rodney Gibb MG ZT 4992
36 Hemas Hose Services Hendrik Zwarteveen MGB 1867
40 Keith Ondarchie Triumph Stag 4938
41 Aura Design Barry Pritchett MG TF 1796
50 Robin Bailey MGB GT V8 4980
53 Michael Wood MG BGT V8 3650
68 Aussie Pools David Anderson MGB 1860
69 Aussie Pools Darren Souter MGB 1800
74 Aura Design Ursula Weidenmuller Triumph TR6 2500
75 Splatt Engineering Robert Splatt Triumph TR6 2498
80 Sean Herlihy MGF 1800
83 Trevor Dunford MGB GTV8 3500
85 Aussie Pools Rodger Chapman MGB 1860
91 Bendigo Innovative Kitchens Andrew Howell MG ZR 1998
95 Babysmart P/L Geoff St.John-Cox Triumph TR7 V8 4550