Strong field for Winton FoS

An impressive list of entries for Winton will see a number of cars and faces return as well as some interesting names.

The outright V8 class features three quick cars, series leader Phil Chester will swap out his steed from the first three rounds and line-up in the familiar British Racing Green MG C Sebring V8 that was run at the recent Sandown by Glen Wood under the Bristle Blaster Australia team banner, Chester is stepping across from his regular blue V8 to allow Glen’s brother Dale Wood to drive the car with #77 on the door. Returning after skipping rounds 2 and 3 is Rob Whitwell in the Abbotsford Crash Repairs GT V8 who will be looking to get some good track time and make headway on the cars setup after recent redevelopments.

The smaller open class capacity cars has some strong numbers, a late withdrawal has been Damien Meyer in his mighty Midget from NSW leaving the two other Midget’s to battle it out, Greg Hewson hopefully has some teething issues out of his immaculate white Midget while Rod Well’s K powered car will line-up alongside. The pair will no doubt be very close around the tight and technical layout of Winton Raceway. Jason Holmes ZR turbo will be a quick car as well looking to capitalise on strong running the last two rounds at Sandown, the modern cars extend with Vince Gucciardo in his TF LE500 who will battle against team mate Rhys Howell who is jumping into the TF Cup of GB Galv/Bristle Blaster Australia which was formerly run by Vince and Glen Wood before that.  Rhys Howell has recently been campaigning a Nissan GTR in the Victorian Sports Car Championship so this will be a very very different car to drive.  Rounding out the field in Open is John Stevenson in his MG TC special and Paul Vernall who is having his first run for the year.

The Modern field is smaller than expected, Andrew Watson and Jim Dodd both unable to run this round leaving class leader Chris Gidney who will be battling two drivers who both haven’t run before. Nahum Ayliffe who recently sold his MG Midget and bought an unraced MG ZS will have some big hills to climb while new to the series and at this point just a one off run is Maddison Gray with past series campaigns in Formula Vee and most recently the Australian Production Car Championship will be looking for a good run.

Group S is packed with competitors, leading the way is Richard Milligan who has stepped back from his V8 to the four cylinder MG B and took out Round 2 this year at Sandown will return for a challenge on the Wolfchester Abingdon Cup, joining him is NSW driver Bret McManus in a Rowntree Automotive MG B that will no doubt be very quick. Local driver Peter Dunn returns to his MG B while David Aberdeen is the sole B GT driver in Group S. Returning after a year off and looking to stake his claim on the trophy is Ross Kaigg, the blue B Roadster is very quick and Ross is looking forward to returning to the seat. Another fast competitor returning is David Anderson who will return and will make it a 4th driver easily capable of being fastest in this class, Anderson has a lot of experience on track and recently has been focusing on the Group S championship.  The final two drivers of Richard Vollebregt who has had two seasons away while he has been in the USA and mum Jane who has recently purchased the purple MG B of Louise Simmonds that she is getting acclimatised to.

The Invited British campaigners see regulars Ursula Weidenmuller, Ed Ferguson and Geoff St John Cox line up in their Triumphs to be joined by NSW competitors Bob Rowntree and Simon Meyer in their Austin Healey Sprite’s. The final competitor is Jim Robertson, the familiar MG Midget with it’s L18 Special rounds out a strong field of entrants

Friday will have 3x practice sessions with Qualifying at 9:15am Saturday and Race 1 at 1:20pm (10 Laps).  Sunday see’s two races, 12:05 and the feature 15 lap race  at 2:35pm.

Entry List:

2 Heli-Corp Jim Robertson MG Midget Specials
3 JHR Jason Holmes MG ZR Open
7 John Stevenson MG TC Special Open
10 Morris Garages Richard Milligan MG B Roadster Group S
12 GB Galvanizing Vince Gucciardo MG TF LE500 Open
13 David Aberdeen MG B GT Group S
18 Greg Hewson MG Midget Open
19 Gidney Motorsport Chris Gidney MG ZR Modern
20 Bret McManus MG B Roadster Group S
21 PS Dunn Solicitors Peter Dunn MG B Roadster Group S
25 Abbotsford Collision Rob Whitwell MG B GT V8 Open
28 JHR Paul Vernall MG ZR 190 Open
29 Nahum Ayliffe MG ZS Modern
36 Pathfinder Australia Ross Kaigg MG B Roadster Group S
39 Bristle Blaster Australia Rhys Howell MG TF Cup Open
42 Peter Meyer Blinds Simon Meyer Austin Healey Sprite Inv British
43 Ed Ferguson Triumph TR7 Inv British
46 Aussie Pools Richard Vollebregt MG B Roadster Group S
60  JHR Rod Wells MG ZR Open
66 Aussie Pools David Anderson MG B Roadster Group S
72 Bristle Blaster Australia Phil Chester MG C Sebring V8 Open
74 Tracing Ursula Weidenmuller Triumph TR6 Inv British
77 Sign Point Signs Dale Wood MG B GT V8 Open
93 JHR Maddison Gray MG ZR 160 Modern
95 Babysmart Geoff St John Cox Triumph TR7 Inv British
127 Rowntree Automotive Bob Rowntree MG B Roadster Group S
149 Jane Vollebregt MG B Roadster Group S